The Kalendar

What is the Kalendar?

The Church follows a liturgical kalendar, which we typically distribute to our members. The Church Kalendar details the various feasts, fasts, celebrations and saints days of the Church year. The Church Kalendar shows the liturgical color of each feast.

The Church uses a “K” instead of a “c” in the spelling in order to make a distinction between the Church and secular calendars.

Why do we have a Kalendar?

The use of a Kalendar is rooted in the creation narrative. Genesis 1:14 tells us, “God said, Let there be lights in the firmament of the heaven to divide the day from the night; and let them be for signs, and for seasons, and for days, and years.” God created the division of time for the observance of significant events pertaining to creation, redemption and judgment. These observances give meaning to time. God saves his people by acting in time. Then God establishes memorial days that look backward to his saving acts and forward to their future consummation.

In Leviticus 23, God commanded Israel to mark the passage of time by the observance of specific days and feasts. The following is a summary of these days and feasts, followed by a summary of their fulfillment in the life, death and resurrection of Jesus.

Old Testament Days and Feasts

1. Sabbath. The Jews observed the seventh day, the Sabbath (Saturday) as a holy day each week. God commanded Israel to work six days and rest on the Sabbath, according to the pattern established by God at the creation.

Each of the Jewish feast day observances commemorated something God had already done for Israel (Please refer to Trinity II bulletin insert) or and also looked forward to a future time when God would do a greater work. To find out how, read the following.

New Testament Fulfillment

1. Sabbath. The Sabbath rest is fulfilled in the finished work of Jesus Christ on the cross and also in His resurrection, which is the beginning of the new creation (cf. Hebrews 4:1-10). Jesus died on Good Friday. His last words were, “It is finished.” He was buried and He rested on the Sabbath in the grave, in fulfillment of the Sabbath day commandment. We rest in Christ because He finished the work of our salvation. We begin new life in Him. We gather around the Altar on the Lord’s Day each week to mark the beginning of the new creation. In the Church, Sunday as the Lord’s Day replaced the Saturday Sabbath as the central day of worship. Sunday is the eighth day, the beginning of the new week, the time of the new creation.

2. Passover. Jesus is the Lamb of God, whose blood saves us from slavery to sin. God saved Israel from Egypt by lambs’ blood. This freed a particular nation from slavery at one point in time. God saves His people from slavery to sin and death by the blood of the Lamb of God. This frees God’s people from sin and death for all time. The Feast of the First Fruits is fulfilled in the resurrection. Jesus is the first-fruits of God’s harvest of souls. (1 Corinthians 15:20).
Each of these observances commemorated something God had already done for Israel and also looked forward to a future time when God would do a greater work.

3. Pentecost. The gift of the Holy Ghost completed the harvest of souls because we are raised from the dead through the gift of the Holy Ghost, which is given to us in our baptism (cf. Romans 6:2). The gift of the Holy Ghost also fulfills the Law given to Moses. In the Old Testament the law was written in stone. In the New Testament the law is written in our hearts through the Holy Ghost (Jeremiah 31:31).

4. Rosh Hashanah points to the end of time and the beginning of the new creation. The trumpet or shofar of Rosh Hashanah is the trumpet of the end of time in the New Testament (1 Corinthians 15:52, 1 Thess. 4:16, Revelation 8:2).

5. Yom Kippur or the Day of Atonement. The annual sacrifices on the Day of Atonement were fulfilled by the death, Resurrection and Ascension of Jesus. Read Hebrews chapters 9 and 10 for an extended discussion of how Jesus fulfills the various details of the Yom Kippur observance.

6. Succoth/Booths/Tabernacles points to final gathering or harvest of souls at the Second Coming of Jesus.

A note on the later Jewish feast of Hanukkah. In the time between end of the Old Testament age and the coming of Jesus (c.170 B.C.) Israel was invaded by a Syrian general named Antiochus, who desecrated the temple with pagan sacrifices. Certain valiant Jews fought back and won independence for Israel. They rededicated the temple and that rededication is celebrated on the feast of Hanukkah, which is also called the Feast of Lights (cf. 1 Maccabees 1-4).

The Birth of Jesus (Christmas) has theological correspondence with the Feast of Light or Hanukkah. Christ is the new and rededicated temple of God. He is the place where the glory of God now dwells among mankind (cf. John 1:14). His advent renders the old temple obsolete and replaces it with a new and better temple, the temple of His Body. This fulfills the promise of the rededication of the temple at Hanukkah.

No comments yet

Add comment